New Zealand Referees

In this section

 
New Zealand Referees - Ask the Experts

Technical Questions


Question: at the 28 minute mark in the Force v Waratahs game today the Force player was penalised for playing the ball with his hands. Can you tell me why there was not a penalty for the waratahs players lifting that player about the vertical and driving him into the ground. This play is becoming a more eveident way of clearing out and is dangerous. Will it take a serous injury to get it stopped, because if this was in general play i think it would attract a yellow card
Asked By: Graeme Mead

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: At the ruck and maul, can you please explain why referees are allowing offensive players to stand in front of the ball at the side of the rucks, unattached to anything to create a barrier for the half back. is this not obstruction. we are also seeing this happening when the offensive team forms a ruck or maul and players are joining in front of the ball and from the sides ( both of these are being penailsed if the defensive team does it) and again creating a barrier from an off side position. In both cases this is stopping the defensive team from an opportunity to compete for posession. Rugby is about an even contest for the ball and it seesm the offensive team has all the rights currently
Asked By: Graeme Mead

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: why is it that if the half back puts the ball in the scrum not straight and favors his side nothing seems to be done about it. It really peeves me off it is happening more and more, i have asked this question to NZ rugby Aussie rugby and some of the hookers involved in the game with no clear result. thank you.
Asked By: John Ohara

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Crusaders v Blues Friday March 1 March 2013. Dagg has a try disallowed because he did not 'release' the ball. As a layman, Dagg did not appear 'held'. Comment please whether the TMO was correct in ruling Dagg was held. If you agree the TMo decision was the correct one, what is the definition of 'held'. Cheers Kevin
Asked By: Kevin Hawkins

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: I have a question about playing/tackling a player without the ball. Scenario: Red 13 receives pass 5m out from Gold's line, but he is unable to take the pass cleanly. He knocks it in a forward direction, and before he is able to recover it (and before the ball touches the ground and becomes a knock-on), he is tackled by Gold 15. Question: Is Gold 15 liable to be penalised for tackling Red 13 without the ball, since he isn't actually carrying the ball? I participate in a global Rugby Referees discussion forum, and there are two schools of though on this; 1. Red 13 is deemed to be in possession of the ball the moment he touches it with a hand or arm, and can therefore be legally tackled, and 2. Red 13 is not in possession of the ball until he is holding it, and tackling him would be an infringement of Law 10.4 (e).
Asked By: Ian Cook

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: I’ve noticed that during the ITM Cup this year there has been a lot of teams and Refs calling ‘hands on’ and allowing defenders to play at the halfback clearing the ball from the ruck. Is this all part of the trial interpretations? Years ago this is how we all played rugby, once someone put their hands on a ball a scrum or ruck was deemed to no longer exist. It is how the Laws are written, but that was also back when the ball was meant to be played strictly with feet only and proper rucking was allowed. We then went through a period where continuity of play was the biggest aim and use of the feet (although the only allowed method in Law) was discouraged. Players on the ground were allowed a lot of latitude to play the ball with their hands in a ruck if it meant they ball would come out on the ‘right’ side and play could continue in a visible manner for spectators. Halfbacks (or equivalent player) were allowed to dig into a ruck with their hands and pull the ball out. If, as a defender, you played at the halfback while he was doing this and calling ‘hands on’ you were swiftly penalised by the ref. Now we are seeing the old interpretation back and if the halfback has a grasp of the ball he is fair game. What confuses me is that this wasn’t part of the announced interpretations and it doesn’t seem to be being played at test level. A Google search found nothing definitive but confused matters more. Here is what it say in the SRU (Scottish Rugby Union) Guidelines for Refereeing Domestic Rugby - If the scrum half / receiver has no hands on the ball he cannot be touched • If the scrum half / receiver has hands on the ball he can be touched as long as the tackler was correctly bound, on side and on his feet when beginning the tackle. He must not kick the ball if it is in the scrum half’s hands. He must not deliberately knock the ball forward out of the scrum half’s hands. Yet here is what the Referees Game Management Guidelines issued by the ARU (Australian Rugby Union) says The ball is only out of a ruck or scrum when it is totally exposed or it is clear of bodies. • If the ball is being dug out (after being won) or is under the feet of players at the back of the ruck, the scrum-half cannot be touched until the ball is clearly out of the ruck. The benefit of any doubt must go to the scrum-half.
Asked By: Rick

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Is a player on the ground (and therefore not taking part in the game) deemed to be part of the ground for the purposes of deciding whether a ball has touched the ground and a ruck can be formed? It sounds strange, I know but in a pile up type tackle when the ball hasn't physically touched the ground but has been released and is on top of a body can a ruck take (as defined) place or is it just a 'breakdown'?
Asked By: Rick

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: At a penalty advantage, the team that has the advantage deliberatley drops the ball or knocks on, or worse, says, "we'll take the penalty ref". Doesn't this make a mockery of the advantage law? I referee at premier level and when I have seen this I've penalised the offending team under law 10.2(a). However, I noticed in a recent ITM Cup game, Mr Brown (fantastic referee) let this happen. What say you?
Asked By: Matt

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: I have a question about the tackle Law. Law 15.3 says that a Ball Carrier has been "brought to ground" when one or both knees are in contact with the ground. Its important to define this as the trigger point for Law 15. However, what about the opponent? If he goes to ground too, then he's a tackler, but if he doesn't, then he's not a tackler (with all that this implies) It doesn't seem right that the opponent can simply go down on one knee and make himself into a tackler. So my question is, at what point does the opponent who brought the ball carrier to ground become a tackler?
Asked By: Ian

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: A ball carrier is tackled and takes out the corner flag and lands in touch in goal at the same time . Drop out defenders or 5 metre scrum defenders ? My friends and i aren't sure.
Asked By: michael kershaw

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Why are the Crusaders, in particular, allowed to enter a ruck from the side (especially when in possession) and also whilst making a tackle deliberatly fall on the side of the opposition ? I have watched them on countless occasions doing this without being penalised. The other favourite thing is for one of the props to stand aroung on the oppositions side interferering with play. Please replay any game of S15 played this year and you will see what I am talking about. Is it legal to do what they do ? or , is it just legal for them ???
Asked By: Norman Stevens

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Why are we seeing so many head high tackles being ignored by the referee at super 15 and club level. Is this not a concern any longer. Please consider the following, appoint line umpires along with AR for top level games.
Asked By: Rusty

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: I watched the crusaders play the waratahs this sunday gone and I noticed the nsw half back feeding the ball under the his own hookers feet. How come this law is hardly enforced now. I used to pride our union scrums as being skillfull and competitive compared to league. the scrum on sunday resembled a league scrum
Asked By: aidan

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: i am un upcoming refereefrom kenya,in a ruck when tha first arriving player goes for the ball and in the process an attacking player comes and holds him in a way that the defender cant get up with the ball and his head is bellow his hips,whom do you penalise
Asked By: victor oduor

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: I have some questions about "Peeling Off" at the line-out. "Peeling Off" appears to act as an exclusion to Law 19.8 (d) regarding players not leaving the line-out once formed until the line-out is over. Law 19.12 DEFINITIONS state that... "A lineout player ‘peels off’ when leaving the lineout to catch the ball knocked or passed back by a team-mate." The Law goes on to say that.... "A player must not peel off until the ball has left the hands of the player throwing it in." "A player who peels off, must stay within the area from that player’s line of touch to 10 metres from the line of touch, and must keep moving until the lineout has ended." Question 1: Does the "team-mate" mentioned in the definitions have to be a line-out participant, i.e. can the catcher tap the ball back to the receiver, who passes to the peeler? Question 2: Does the use of the words "A player" in this Law mean that only ONE player is allowed to peel off, or can two or more peel off together. Question 3: Does the "peeler" have to receive the ball, or can a team use peeling off as a subterfuge Regards Ian
Asked By: Ian Cook

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Michael Hobbs was the first player to be awarded a retrospective yellow card in the February 24th, Blues v Crusaders match for a dangerous high tackle. If (hypothetically) he had received another yellow card in the game for another offence, would he in effect have a "red card" and a potential suspension as a result?
Asked By: Mitch Collins

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Would the rucking the player backwards in this clip by number two be deemed a considered a citing offence in New Zealand rugby. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26wASdUOERw Cheers
Asked By: James Annabell

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Where in the 2010 rule book do I find the ruling on the tackle law. I refer to last nights incident wher the player was sent off. I am a little confused as to last nights RED card rather than a YELLOW card.
Asked By: Alex

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Watching games from the world cup noticed main problem in the game is still the scrum far too many penalties are beining awarded at scrum time.We do not want to see the world cup won by a scrum penalty given to win the game.Do we put grip monts on props jerseys so props get a correct bind on his opponents jersey what can we do as the scrums from club rugby to world cup rugby are a shambles and at times the wrong teams are getting penalised.The scrum has far to many penalties awarded and this would show that this world cup has had more penalties at scrum time than at the 1987 WORLD CUP.How do we fix it and reduce the penalties here we fixed the lineout up over years but the scrum has gone the opposite.
Asked By: grant

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: We seem to be seeing more instances of tackling using only the shoulders as well as clearing out using only the shoulders. Is this allowed now?
Asked By: Nigel

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: I watched the All Black test on saturday night and had some querries on rhe referees rulings. It was quite noticable All Black players on a number of occasions walking from behind Carter to in front of him before he kicked a penalty seeking the side line. In the old days this wasn't allowed. I know some rules have changed but surely this isn't allowed otherwise the whole team could in an offside position before he kicks it. The other one apart from the blatant professional fowl in front of their own goal posts that was missed by officials (?) that even TV commentator remarked on Marshall mentioned was the rule for players in front of a kick in general play. When Carter chip kicked and Nonu regained which eventually led to a Guilford try, Whitelock was clearly in front of Carter and did not stop running and in fact was first to clear out when Nonu was tackled. Was he offside. I would appreciate if you could answer these questions and I can explain it to my son what the correct ruling should have been. I found it hard to explain a lot of the rulings in last years Tri Nations in paticicular referees rulings in favour of the All Blacks which clearly beggered belief. By the way I'm born and bred New Zealander, but I like to think I'm honest and fair. I look forward to your reply.
Asked By: Des Gorrie

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: What happens to an assistant referee who makes such a blunder in missing what was a blatant forward pass which costs a team their win in a tight fought game. My example refers to the Manawatu vs Taranaki game. The pass was clearly shown to be forward the referee clearly asked his assistant and was given false advice. Will he be counselled, stood down, or taken out and shot. Mistakes like this do not give refereeing a good name and call into question home town decisions. Viewing this in Perth Australia brought some interesting comments about small town NZ which were hard to take.
Asked By: Ramage

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: I have noticed a couple of players in the ITM cup without mouthguards. Tonight it was Lelia Masaga playing for BOP. Jason Rutledge I have niticed in the past, and Ihave questions about Sonny Bill williams in the Super Rugby final. As you know the law says The wearing of a mouth guard in an approved manner is compulsory for all players at all levels of New Zealand Domestic Rugby Sanction: A player observed by the referee to be not wearing a mouth guard, shall leave the field and not be permitted to return until such time as the player is wearing a mouth guard in the approved manner. The team of the offending player shall not be permitted a replacement during the period the offending player is off the field. If the offending player is unable to return wearing a mouth guard in the approved manner, then that player may be replaced after a period of 10 minutes (playing time) has elapsed. This will be deemed to be a permanent replacement and the offending player will not be permitted to return to the field of play under any circumstances, except in accordance with Law 3.13, but then only if that player is wearing a mouth guard in the approved manner. But I have never seen it enforced. Coaching young kids it is important these players set an example. Thanks for helping witht his.
Asked By: Warren Smart

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Scrums - 4 calls, 4 actions. Are referees expected to apply the same standard with 'touch' as they would the 'engage' call? I've noticed referees sanction early engagements, and yet be content with non compliance at 'touch'. If a punitive approach is unnecessary then shouldn't referees manage the situation and consider sanctioning repeated infringements?
Asked By: James

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Law 20 Scrum INTERNATIONAL RUGBY BOAR (d) The scrum half must throw in the ball straight along the middle line, so that it first touches the ground immediately beyond the width of the nearer prop’s shoulders. Sanction: Free Kick Why is this law not enforced at the S15 & Test matches??
Asked By: Keith Jennings

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: I think referees are being soft on tip tackles in super fourteen seem to be just yellow carding when should be reds. Keats tackle on Matherson is a good example of this and there have been others.We have been told to start at red and work our way down.What are your thoughts on this as the referee and his two ars are able to see different angles to the tackle
Asked By: grant

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Can advantage be applied at a quick throw in if the person throwing the ball steps in the feild of play and an opposition player then gathers and scores a try. Under law it states that the throw is disallowed and options given to the opposition. Also one of the ARs duties is to keep the flag up if the player steps in field, so can advantage apply if the flag is raised?
Asked By: Glen

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: I was wondering if the ball carrier is allowed to use a bent arm to fend off even to the face? There has been some controversy regarding the use of fending off in my local region where I referee. Thanks
Asked By: Talal Chaudhry

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: I have been watching the super 15 games this weekend and already I notice the rules re the breakdown being ignored, ie attaching players diving past the ball on to the ground, offside players all over the field to be 2 of them. Retiring player (lazy running) tackling the ball carrier. What are you doing about keeping up your own standards while refereeing.
Asked By: Col

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: When you have a tight head prop who is much taller and heavier than his loose head opposition.How do you get good scrums with size differences?What areas should you be looking at to keep the scrum square and who is at fault?
Asked By: Grant

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Law 11.1 Offside Deinition a player is offside if he is in front of the ball carrier of his team In todays game we regularly see usually forwards running forward between the threequarter lines acting as what I call Blockers o.k. They are technically not interfering but in my opinion they are. They are obstructing preventing the defence line setting up their tackle lines . This is a cached developement and must be looked at as it is spoiling good threequarter play They are Offside and should Stand still Roy Sullivan Machen RFC Wales
Asked By: roy Sullivan

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: in the world cup pool play,if there is tie at full time,do they play extra time?also how about quarter,semis and final. thank you.
Asked By: robbie robertson

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: 2 games into the Super 15 and the first thing I notice is how slow the cadence is for the scrums,why is there such a long pause between "Pause & Engage",seems that it will make way more scrum resets.
Asked By: Melan Mudgway

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Almighty Oracle(s), Great website, just a small query. At a ruck, are we providing for a fair contest by allowing onside pillars to bind with the intention of creating an impenetrable wall from the threat of the tackler(s)? During yesterdays Crusaders v Blues match, at a couple of rucks it looked almost impossible for the opposition to put pressure on the HB due to this wall. It may look like smart play if the pillars are onside, but in my view it presents an unfair advantage to the ball carrying team. To me, this tactic constitutes Foul Play by contravening the Obstruction law, 10.1(c).
Asked By: James Imlach

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Where in the Laws of the game can I find the laws for "cleaning out" at the break down. It seems to be an obscure event. Col
Asked By: Col Gates

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Why are we seeing the AR's when standing under the goal post waiting for a kick, one watching the post and one watching the post watcher ? why do they not both watch a post each like they have for 150 years. I know this is not new and has been going on for some years.Col
Asked By: Col Gates

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Is there anything to stop a team taking a quick kick off to restart the game post a score occuring if they use the ball that was kicked at goal for either the conversion, penalty, or drop goal..
Asked By: Graham Hart

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Are there any time guidelines or rules for the ref between his pause and engage calls when setting scrums? This seems to be where so many time wasting scrum resets occur. Its seems as if both packs are guessing when the engage call will come. Should they not have the certainty of knowing exactly 1 second, or 2 seconds or 5 seconds or whatever, after the pause call we can start to move forward.
Asked By: Allan Watts

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Video refs call in the England All Black game.Do you think through video footage of the Toeava tackle on Hape scoring in the corner.A PENALTY TRY should have been awarded because of Toeava`s shoulder charge on Hape?
Asked By: Grant

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Not sure of the Pillar for this one. Noticed & TV pointed out that an Auckland player was wearing an uncovered ring on his finger. Very dangerous and illegal I think. Who deals with this.
Asked By: Colin

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Penalties and Free Kicks. Please advise why referees are so pedantic about a "quick" free kick following an infringement at a scrum or ruck situation, where the player taking the kick is not exactly on the mark, yet for a Penalty Kick, they will allow the kicker to advance over the mark towards the opponents try line, thus gaining a territorial advantage. So many minor technical infringements are pulled up but not this one of kicking in front of the mark, when in my playing days it was a common infringement picked up by referees.
Asked By: Peter Cooper

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: What is the differance between a legitamate tackle and a legitamate not held.
Asked By: Colin

Read the answer (1 Comment)


Question: DO both feet have to be back behind the last feet of the ruck/maul/tackle for the player to be onsdide? They should be.
Asked By: chillihead

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Just watched the Hawkes Bay v Auckland game, penalty to Hawkes Bay in the dieing seconds, while taking the kick some Auckland players were waving their arms, I thought there is suppose to be no movement when a penalty?
Asked By: T Moody

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Sir, I am neither an Auckland nor Hawkes Bay supporter, but the actions tonight of several Auckland players when the final penalty kick was taken were blatant attempts to put off the Hawkes Bay kicker; arm waving, walking about etc. I refer to the following law and ask your comments 21.5 SCORING A GOAL FROM A PENALTY KICK (a) A penalty goal can be scored from a penalty kick. (b) If the kicker indicates to the referee the intention to kick at goal, the kicker must kick at goal. Once the kicker has made the intention clear, there can be no change of the intention. The referee may enquire of the kicker as to the intention. (c) If the kicker indicates to the referee the intent to kick at goal, the opposing team must stand still with their hands by their sides from the time the kicker starts to approach to kick until the ball is kicked.
Asked By: Peter Donaldson

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Firstly, fantastic site, long overdue! As a referee I am often frustrated by 'dummy runners' coming out of the backline. In my mind it is obstuction, but with only a ground level view, I can only be 95% sure, which, in my opinion is not enough to make the call. Yet when watching my games on TV afterwards it is quite obvious, as are the incidents in 1st class games. Has there been any discussion about this among top level refs?
Asked By: Matt Smith

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Why do some player not have to wear a mouthguard/ NZ rules safety variation say ALL players in NZ competitons must wear a mouthguard. In recent weeks I am pretty sure I have seen Sonny Bill Williams, Jason Rutledge and Lelia Masaga without mouthguards. These are role models and should all be made to wear one. I quote from the rule book The wearing of a mouth guard in an approved manner is compulsory for all players at all levels of New Zealand Domestic Rugby PENALTY: A player observed by the referee to be not wearing a mouth guard, shall leave the field and not be permitted to return until such time as the player is wearing a mouth guard in the approved manner. The team of the offending player shall not be permitted a replacement during the period the offending player is off the field. If the offending player is unable to return wearing a mouth guard in the approved manner, then that player may be replaced after a period of 10 minutes (playing time) has elapsed. This will be deemed to be a permanent replacement and the offending player will not be permitted to return to the field of play under any circumstances, except in accordance with Law 3.13, but then only if that player is wearing a mouth guard in the approved manner
Asked By: Warren Smart

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Could the first Manawatu try vs North Harbour (intercept by the no 8) be considered an intentional knock on as he propelled the ball forward and re-gathered, making no attempt to catch it in the first instance?
Asked By: Nigel

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: Why are so many props at set scrum time getting away with illegal binding and and getting penalties for their team (ie Auckland tight head vs Manawatu ) or am I wrong. Was his binding legal?
Asked By: Colin

Read the answer (0 Comments)


Question: There is still many players standing off side at the break down and getting away with it, WHY
Asked By: Colin Gates

Read the answer (1 Comment)


Pillar: Technical 1 to 50 of 65

Next >
 

Appointments

more »

Become a Referee

Name:

Location:

Address:

 

Phone number:

Email: